Hierarchy permissions

For permissions on nodes (projects and folders) in hierarchies, see Project permissions and Folder permissions.

Edit permissions

To modify the permissions for a hierarchy, select it in the list in the Manage Hierarchies interface, which opens the editor blade for the hierarchy, then click the blade tab Assign Permissions.

Permissions can be specified for users or workgroups. The table at the top lists all users and workgroups which currently have specified permissions for the hierarchy.

If the Allow box is checked for a permission, then the user/workgroup can perform that action. If the Deny box is checked, the action is forbidden.

To set up permissions for another user or workgroup, click the Select Select user workgroup icon button, and choose one or more users or workgroups from the displayed list (you can filter the list by entering a string into the Search box for sub-string matching).

Click the Save button to save your changes, or click the Discard button to close the tab with no changes.

Effective Permissions

The Effective Permissions tab can be used to show the actual access rights which a particular user account has for the hierarchy.

These permissions will be the combination of permissions granted to the user through membership of workgroups, and any specific user permissions.

Permissions options

The permissions options are explained in the table below.

Permission What is Allowed or Denied
Assign The user/workgroup can set permissions for this hierarchy for other users and workgroups.
Read The user/workgroup can view the hierarchy.
Update The user/workgroup can edit the hierarchy.
Delete The user/workgroup can delete the hierarchy.
Full Access The user/workgroup has all of the permissions: Assign, Read, Update, Delete.

Delete actions on nodes (folders and projects)

Delete actions on nodes (folders and projects) require 'Delete' permission on the node (and all child nodes) plus 'Update' permission for the hierarchy.

Permissions for a new hierarchy

A new hierarchy's initial permissions have Full Access for the user creating the hierarchy, and for Administrators.

In addition, the tenant setting 'Workgroups to assign to new hierarchies' (see Security settings) can be used to set up workgroups that will automatically be granted Full Access when a new hierarchy is created.

Permissions for a cloned hierarchy

All of the user/workgroup permissions settings are automatically copied from the source hierarchy.